Rainy day

I can’t hear anything. Not even my own thoughts, as the headphones keep on blaring lyrics and beats to my ears, deafening everything that surrounds me. Numbing me from everything. And I don’t know if that’s a thing that I appreciate.

Something catches my attention in the corner of my eye. I turn my head towards the window as I catch the ending of a flash of lightning. I fold the corner of the page from the book I’m reading. I take off the headphones and hear rain. I hadn’t realized it was raining. I walk to the window and my eyes widen at the strength of it. Was I really that engrossed into my reading that I didn’t notice the rain? Or was the music that loud that I couldn’t hear it? I turn my head towards my iPod and I can hear the music. It’s loud to the point where I can hear the music clearly. I guess the reason is that the music was too loud.

I turn and head to the door. Not bothering to stop the music and the book is long forgotten.

I get to the living room and I see my mother at the front door. Praying, with raindrops falling at her feet. The sight of it is spectacular. My mom whispering prayers with rain falling at her feet so heavily and so loud that the sound of the rains’ echoes over rides her whispers.

A small smile is on my face as I leave her alone and open the back door, just as I thought. My little brother is outside and jumping around laughing his head off and telling my older brother to pick him up and twirl him around.

I close the door quietly and… What the?? Oh my god. Seriously??

I open the door again and see my brother holding my younger brother and singing “rain drops keep falling on my head” and trust me. It’s not good. He should definitely *not* be a singer. I laugh as he continues singing off key and the little squirt laughs at him.

I close the door again and head for the roof. My little hide away when it’s raining. As I’m positive no one would be there and it would have the best view ever.

I open the door and just as I expected. I’m alone. At least for the time being, I walk to the farthest wall and slide against the wet wall until I’m on the ground with my legs crossed.

I’m completely wet now. And I’m pretty sure I’d get sick for this. But it’s totally worth it.

I can still hear the little brat screaming and laughing in the rain. Now I hear my mom telling him to get inside before his little butt catches pneumonia. I rest my head against the wall and let the rain wash over me. Cleansing me with its purity.

Looking around me, everything seems so different. But it’s not different at all. It all seems different. It feels different. What the hell does that mean?

It’s like I’m seeing things from a new point of view. Like the person living behind my eyes isn’t me. This isn’t making any sense… I sigh and realize how fucked up I am.

It’s getting stronger and the drops are getting heavier. But that doesn’t change a thing to me. The door opens and my older brother steps onto the roof already wet. I smile mischievously at him.

“Rain drops keep falling on your head, huh?”

“Don’t. I already got it from mom. I don’t need it from you.”

“What the hell were you thinking? Were you trying to make him go deaf or something?” I ask him as he sits next to me.

“I don’t know. It just felt like a good idea…” he says as he rest his head against the wall and takes a deep breath.

“Well don’t ever feel that way again, ok?” He gives me the finger at that without looking at me. I chuckle and tell him how mature that is.

At that moment my older sister arrives and starts telling him how she heard mom tell her about his singing debut and asked him for his autograph while laughing her ass off. I lower my head and laugh silently at that when his patience ran out.

He stood up and went for her and they started running with her screaming and laughing at him when he almost slipped. And I’m just sitting here at the wall laughing at them and wondering how this just happened.

At this poin- OH! hahahaha she just fell on her ass! hahahaha ok I shouldn’t be laughing at that. She could’ve been hurt. hehe…

He told her he wouldn’t do anything anymore. Since she fell and would have a bruise on her ass for what she did. And told her how we had to love karma… hehe

God, I love rainy days…

3 Responses to “Rainy day”


  1. 1 Vagabond August 9, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    I don’t recall it raining yesterday 😛

  2. 2 MishMisha August 11, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    maybe you missed it.. :Pp

  3. 3 N. August 12, 2007 at 8:25 am

    I like it. Quite the dream..


Leave a Reply

Words of wisdom..

Just when you think life's a bitch, she has puppies.

August 2007
S S M T W T F
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet Tweet

Blog Stats

  • 21,550 hits

